Nnamdi Kanu: Three Justices That Sat On Appeal Court Panel Transferred

The three Appellate Court justices who served on the bench that overturned the 15-count terrorism indictment the federal government brought against IPOB leader Nnamdi Kanu have been transferred from their respective divisions.

Recall that the Appeal Court recently held that Kanu’s extradition from Kenya to Nigeria did not follow due process and was a flagrant violation of Nigeria’s extradition treaty and a breach of his fundamental human rights.

This information was provided in a memo dated October 17 and signed by Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, President of the Court of Appeal.

The memo emphasized that the new posting for the justices was with immediate effect and that they were expected to report to their new stations by October 21.

According to the memo, the presiding justice, Jummai Hanatu Sankey, who previously was in the Gombe Division of the court, has been transferred to Awka Division, whereas Justice Oludotun Adetope-Okojie who delivered the lead judgement, was moved to Owerri, while Justice Ebiowei Tobi, the third member of the court panel was transferred to Gombe.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button